West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Lang Tengah sunrise

I was on the 5-6am patrol this morning. It was very easy to wake up at that time – probably because I knew my next bed would be far more comfortable than the camp bed! We checked Turtle Bay and then walked over the hill to the other beach to check it. No turtles. It’s not surprising that we haven’t had anymore turtles coming ashore to nest this week. It’s still early in the season. In July and August there can be 3 or 4 turtles a night. I’m just very happy that I got to see one turtle.

We had to wait on the other beach until 6am to check it again. I tried a couple more shots of the stars while waiting but they didn’t come out well. At 6am we left to check both beaches one last time. We were back at camp by 6.30am and met another volunteer and one of the staff who also planned to go see sunrise. We climbed over the other hill to the eastern side of the island and sat on rocks waiting for the sun to rise over Redang island. As the sky lightened, the clouds drifted together. There were some lovely colours in the sky but no spectacular orange sunrise.

After breakfast in camp, I spent a while sitting on the beach while it was still cool. It’s such a beautiful little bay. The midday boat arrived half an hour early to pick up H and I. The extra is the bay as we left. There’s no sign from here that there’s a camp with 10 people just through the trees.


I went back to Kuala Terengganu and reacquainted myself with the modern luxuries of electricity, running water, a hot shower and mosquito free accommodation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.