A good scratch

I had a very full day yesterday. In the morning I went to Nant Mill near Wrexham with the U3A photography group. It poured down for most of the morning so we took a lot of wet flower shots.

I dashed home for something to eat before going to Shrewsbury to collect my concertina from the repairer. F came with  me as he's very interested in engineering and I had told him about the windmill that the repairer is restoring. They spent a lot of time looking at the internal workings and talking about the restoration. He's hoping to mill his own flour when it's complete. The extra is of the mill with the sails waiting to be attached. he's done a good repair on my squeezebox too.

We then went to The Quarry in Shrewsbury as we'd heard that a Night Heron was on the pool in The Dingle. Sure enough, there it was sitting and preening so we joined the other birdwatchers to admire it. It must have been blown off course while migrating so we felt a bit sorry for it sitting there on it's own. It feeds at night so it was a bit early for any fishing action.

We had a meal out before returning which ended a most enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.