Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

The Best of Me

After two days of travelling and several hours of delays due to road blocks on the final leg of my trip, I was finally able to kiss and hug the man I owe my existence to - not only in terms of biology, but also in terms of character, quality and values.

We're staying at the head quarters of the organization my father used to work for. It is quite a large compound with guest houses for the natives who come to town for a few days. 44 Kayapó men have left their villages to greet my Dad - including some very impressive chiefs. I haven't photographed them yet as I want to ask their permission before taking any photographs. I don't know what will be possible in terms of photography, but deep down I don't really care. Meeting them and getting to know them is an incredible privilege.

I am now at the very place where I spent part of my childhood and youth. A lot has changed. Two or three decades ago this town was surrounded by dense forest, now there's only farmland, cattle everywhere. The town itself has grown quite a bit and is unrecognizable. Other things are still the same: The room I'm staying is almost an exact copy of the one I grew up in: Very simple, two beds, one desk, one ventilator. No luxury whatsoever. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.