Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Timid Approaches

We have to get used to each other first. The Kayapós aren't as talkative and open as Brazilians normally are. I am being observed constantly by them, they follow me around at a distance. They greet me, but when I ask them something, their answer is normally very short.
On the other hand, they don't seem to talk much with one another either. They sit in silence in small groups under the trees. Sometimes my father joins them for a while without saying much. He tells me that it feels strange to him also. They communicate differently, he says. And: Be patient. 

They don't seem to like the camera very much. Even after asking permission to take his photograph, this chief almost hid his face. Maybe it's not the camera but the cameraman they aren't comfortable with yet. 

Here are a few shots from the town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.