My Year

By Dunworkin

Producer Gas

Ever heard of this? No, neither had I.

Today was Otley Vitage Transport Extravaganza and a good day saw lots of exhibitors and spectators turn up.

There was a great display of old cars, lorries, buses, tractors, etc., all lovingly cared for, and I could have used several for today's Blip.

However, this took my eye. Not because it's a good photo but because it was something I'd never seen before.

It is a tractor running on Producer gas. I'd never heard of this, but in war time Europe fuel oil was scarce so other means of fuelling tractors and vehicles had to be found. The answer was to burn wood, or anthracite to produce gas to power the engine.

That answer is too simple. From what I've learned the carboniferous fuel had to be heated above 700C without combustion. What happens is that as the material chars carbon reacts with steam to give hydrogen and carbon monoxide. It's the hydrogen that then powers the vehicle. The carbon monoxide given off reacts further with steam to produce carbon dioxide and hydrogen. Thus the end result of the reaction is hydrogen and carbon dioxide.

It's all explained HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.