Notre Dame Cathedral, Amiens

Saturday 29th April 2017 (1708)

Having picked up a booklet in the Tourist Office we decided to visit Amiens today to go to the cathedral, go up the tower and have a boat trip. We were blessed with another gloriously sunny day and it was even warmer than it has been. 

Our plans were slightly thwarted. For a start I looked at the clock on my tablet (still set to English time) so was an hour "late" getting up ... although I did enjoy the lie in! We arrived at the cathedral and had a good look round. The tower didn't open until 2.30pm so we decided to go to the boats first. It was a much longer walk than expected. When we got there there was a long queue. Having queued for quite a while we were told we would have to wait another 50 mins for a boat. We gave up and went back to the cathedral so I could go up the tower. Having bought my ticket expecting to go straight up I waited 20 mins and still there was no sign of being allowed up. Time had moved on and we had a long drive home so I gave up. Not a particularly successful day, although it was good to see the cathedral. 

A trip to the City of Europe when we got back means my wine cellar is now stocked up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.