Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sunshine On A Cloudy Day

It's actually not cloudy today, but my mood is.  So seeing this cardinal brought a temporary smile to my face.

I got through the crisis with mom yesterday.  She's doing better.  Thank you all.  I spoke with two different health providers who offered suggestions.  I stayed with her until her caretaker returned with her groceries and mom was up making chicken salad.  Uh huh.  Chicken salad, chopping away.

I was exhausted and left to go home for a couple of hours rest while there was someone still with her.

Not far from her house I felt and heard a terrible sound...I knew it was a tire.  Not realizing it was a complete pancake, I drove on it a bit too far, hoping for help.  Long story short (and it was a long story since it was 5 pm on a Friday evening), I ended up at my least favorite place in the entire world (Walmart) to buy two tires. 

I left there at 8:30 pm, not having eaten anything all day.   When I got home I turned off everything that makes sound (fans, etc) except the fridge, laid back and put a warm washcloth on my forehead to try to relieve my unbelievable stress headache. Never made it back to mom's house.

Fast-forward to this morning.  I tried to print something from my 3-week old printer.  Jam.  But there was nothing jammed that I could find.  So I called the Geek Squad.  Two hours later he tells me that the feeder motor is broken and I need to return the printer to the store.  I bought it online because the store is about 30 miles from me. 

I'm on my fourth load of laundry and still have to empty the dishwasher, wash feeders, make nectar then fill feeders, put out water, soak/re-bandage my toes, get dressed, drink a couple of liters of water  and eat something. And eventually get to mom's place.  It's already 3:30. I haven't slept through the night in almost two full months. Toes, stress, nightmares.    Something's gotta give.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.