Beewriter

By Beewriter

Tassel Twirling in Todmorden

I thought I was going to spend the day in Hebden Bridge, but Pat rang me to say we were not leaving until five and the Burlesque show wasn't actually in HB, but in Todmorden. 

I spent a lazy morning just faffing about doing nothing much, which was rather nice. I then dressed in my steampunk gear....including the new skirt I bought a couple of days ago (and I really love it!) and the new military little back jacket I bought in a vintage shop recently. 

Ellen had invited us for tea and scones, but she had a shock when I arrived all steampunked up and Pat had her stockinged legs out in her burlesque gear. We had a lovely hour or so catching up....mainly about the bruise Ellen had on her face after opening a cupboard door on it and my car door crushed fingers!

We picked up Katy, then the three of us headed off for the show. We got there quicker than we expected so we went on to Hebden Bridge to see what was occurring. There were no other burlesquey people about though...there are events on there tomorrow though. We were a little self conscious walking around the town....but, hey, we didn't care ha ha ha.

The doors to the Hippodrome opened at 7pm and we joined the gloriously glamorous girls (like this one), the dapper looking men, the men in drag, steampunkers, women in weird and wonderful costumes and some people who I have no idea whether they were men or women. The show started at 8:15pm and it was brilliant. There were seven performers, two of them were men....and what beautiful men they were too, especially 'Jet Adore' with his glittery gold cod piece and beautiful little bum!

The women were all sizes, but wow, could they twizzle their tassels and shake their bits. It was like nothing I have ever seen before. It was brilliant, I will definitely go to another burlesque show at some time.

It didn't finish until late....I arrived home so late it was early the next day....in fact I left home on Saturday and came home a day older on my birthday :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.