A Final Swim

Time to fly back to Heathrow at midnight today. Emphasis therefore on packing and resting as much as possible.

Was able to take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool for an hour before checking out.

The sun even emerged. Julie 'saw' all sorts of photos to create and reckoned she'd got more out of going up the swimming pool than wandering around the city.

She and I were able to sit in the Club Room between checkout and departure for the airport, but we weren't offered drinks and nibbles. Instead, I dropped off, snored, and the room manager brought me a warm blanket to fend off the fiercesome air conditioning.

Everything ran like clockwork. The bus brought us on time to the airport where we seemed to be the first to check in. I'd ordered wheelchair assistance because my legs and my back couldn't bear the thought of the long walk to the departure gate.

Thus Julie and I were fast tracked through immigration, security and at the gate. I do like that, but I hate feeling so incapacitated that I have to ask for the assistance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.