Apple Blossom

Home from Hong Kong. Our taxi driver met us at Caffe Nero at Terminal 3, Heathrow, as arranged, and Julie and I arrived back within two hours.

Julie slept most of the way. I chatted to the driver, Ion, who had come to UK from Romania. He was a policeman there and graduated in law, but has come to UK to seek much better opportunities for his children. He has no intention of returning, the corruption is so bad, although matters are improving.

Ironically, it was Ceaucescu's removal that opened the floodgates for all the hangers on in the government to move in and make money for themselves.

Julie didn't stay long, just long enough to take her belongings from my new suitcase and then to drive back to her home. Strange that we've been companions for the whole week but I sense that I shall hear little from her from now on.

I did collapse into the massage chair in the conservatory and fall asleep for two hours.

The apple tree over the fence was in full bloom, as you can see from the photo. We hope for many fruits overhanging the fence in the Autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.