Rationed

Oh goodness me, how the mighty have fallen on hard times! A poached egg, a herby tomato and two crusts, hardly enough to fuel an intense day of bedroom cleaning including every item of bed linen and a turning of the mattress; never say I don't accord my imminent house sitters the very best of cleanliness.

I had help from His Lordship who likens the mattress turning to tossing the caber. He has perfected a wicked manoeuvre, whereas the last time I tried it solo, the mattress fought back and flung me against the wardrobe, cracking the door.

The cherry blossom which fills our view from the windows has peaked in its flowering, and with a non stop wind since it first burst forth, is beginning to blow off, lining the paths with ribbons of pink and freckling the grass with petals.
I really wanted it to last until BoyDavid and Luca arrive on Tuesday, because it looks so stunning in the sunshine. When David was born, we were put on a verandah ward of the old Simpson Maternity Pavilion overlooking those very cherry trees, which were in full blossom on the 12th May. A late flowering that year for the trees......and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.