Reading Matters

I will not be short of reading matter, given this pile now lying in wait for me. An eclectic mix to be sure with the next book to be read for the book group on top. I'm hoping it grips me rather more than some of the books we choose for our reads: books that are so clever and well written that the story line is lost in the telling.

If the only time I read is in bed at night, I really need a book that grips me , otherwise the temptation is to put the light out.
I know I should put aside some time during the day to sit and read, but it is hard to ignore one's upbringing when, in general, reading was an activity best kept for moments of relaxation.
I suppose it is easier to knit watching television than reading, which must mean I am responding unconsciously to the refrain which haunted my childhood, ' the devil finds work for idle  hands'

Our book group meeting last night was a resounding success for the cake, not so much for the book, which got the thumbs down from most of the ladies. I might have been the odd one out having enjoyed it, although I could understand what the criticisms were. I am less discerning.

I have treated you to last night's cake vision, taken  before it was violated

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.