Arachne

By Arachne

Shadow side

Friends for lunch. Good friends. Don’t bother to tidy up, they said. Still, I’d better get rid of the mould in the coffee pot. And get that crud off the bench so it only looks like I haven’t tidied since yesterday, rather than since… And, oh, the hob. I can’t let anyone see it like that. I’ve never seen a hob like that in anyone else’s house. Well, I have, but that was years ago and surely most people at least… I can always put the pan with last night’s leftovers back on it afterwards to make it look like I haven’t tidied up. As long as I put the lid back on too. And sweep the floor. Normal people do that every day, don’t they? And what about that heap of yogurt pots for freezing things that’s still on the bench. P’raps I could I hide them in the freezer – just for now, of course, until they’ve gone. Oh, and the pile of newspapers. No! Not January, surely not. Well they can go in the recycling bin. Ah. They can’t. It’s full. Better take it outside. I wonder how long the fridge has had those drips down the front. Quick wipe – hope they’re not sticky. Ah, there’s a bit I missed on the bench. This sponge is getting a bit embarrassing. Think I’d better chuck it.

Oh Lordy, please don’t be early. Well she did say she wanted to know how I make my salad dressing. I can say that’s why the salad’s not done yet. Anyway, it’s better done at the last minute.
 
Tidied up? Me? Oh hardly at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.