all hands on deck

This afternoon, the Garden of Cosmic Speculation at Portrack opened its doors for Scotland's Garden Open Days. It is the only day of the year when the gardens are open to the public, so people come from far and wide, and the A76 had a long tailback of slow-moving traffic. I decided to use the back roads but 2 miles from the garden they had been closed off, so I left my car and walked the rest of the way.

I've visited Portrack several times. The best of all was when I came on a private visit with Shawhead Primary School to get some inspiration for their own garden. Today all I saw of Portrack was the tearoom, where I spent a happy few hours buttering scones as part of the catering team from The Usual Place. The trainees who had come to help started at 8 today and finished at 5.30 and they were still smiling. I'm so pleased to be a small part of this team. Well done everybody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.