Llanberis, Wales

A few miles down the road from Caernarvon is beautiful Llanberis, lying in the foothills of Snowdon. Beyond these trees in my main photo is Wales' "electric mountain", home of pumped storage/hydroelectricity - a very interesting tour - after which we visited the slate museum. Walking around the scenic area, I wished I could have blipped the lovely crashing sound of this waterfall. High in the trees nearby was a cat, still on his way upwards when I snapped it, while the Jay was far lower down in another tree. This is the first Jay I've ever blipped; hadn't seen one for years, so this was a really nice surprise.

Had a super lunch at a restaurant called Coffee Pot, of roast lamb with all the trimmings, followed by apple pie. Tried not to feel guilty when we returned outdoors to the sight of ewes with their lambs! The weather was kind again - though cool and cloudy; the rain kept off till early evening.

Forty-five years ago I climbed to the summit of Snowdon, and during the same week scaled other peaks, including negotiating the precipitous Crib Goch ridge. Couldn't do that now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.