angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

an open and shut case

...once again, I find that I have an obscene number of images to choose from. Consequently, I have eliminated those that I can easily repeat and selected one of those that I have been attempting to capture for over a week.

The olive groves are full of tiny Lang's Short-tailed Blues Leptotes pirithous and they are quite hard to get really good shots of. Most of the time, they rest and feed with their wings closed. They particularly like to feed on wild sweet peas but, because their proboscises are too short, they drink from the back of the flower, which means they are not always in full view to photograph. I have managed to get a few reasonable closed-wing shots but what I really wanted was open-winged. Early this morning, I finally succeeded in getting a blippable image...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.