angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

pearls in the olive grove

...another scorcher today so, as planned, we lazed around until mid-afternoon and then went to the beach so the girls could swim while it was a little cooler.

Many thanks for the id suggestions for yesterday's fly. It now appears more likely that it is a species of tachinid and not a syrphid - though I am yet to confirm which species. I am used to tachinids being extremely bristly and, in fact, I have been photographing a particularly ugly one these last few days!

This morning, I spent my usual hour capturing images of small flying things in the olive groves and decided that this delicate little Pearly Heath Coenonympha arcania was a darn sight prettier than most of the other insects I came back with...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.