An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Belated Easter Celebrations...

Backblip

We didn't get the chance to see John and Norma over Easter so they arrived this afternoon for dinner out and a wee overnight.  

Alan was absolutely over the moon to see them and let Norma steal lots of kisses.  

After an a aperitif or two (poor David, I was halfway through my G&T when it struck me we hadn't had the discussion about who's turn it was to drive!  Diet coke for him then!) we headed to Max and Ben's for dinner.  Lovely it was too.  They are known for their steaks and certainly the steak I had was cooked to perfection (medium rare) and full of flavour.

John and Norma are such great company.  I doubt I will ever get anywhere near my 80th birthday but if I do, I hope I am still enjoying life as much as this pair.  They've already had two stays in lovely hotels down the Ayrshire coast this last month and they're off to Spain in a couple of weeks time.  

When my mum died, John's grief was hard to witness but he soldiered on and I was in awe of how he looked after himself and the house.   When he met Norma three years later, he was so apprehensive about telling me but I could not have been happier for him.  Life is too short to be lonely and sad. Of course it helps that Norma is wonderful.  Full of fun, great sense of humour and a heart of gold.  I adore her but more importantly, so does Alan.   That's the true test of a person in my eyes :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.