Polling Station

I live almost across the road from a polling station, but instead I have to make a trek to a polling station some distance away. Some quirk of where the boundaries are drawn I suppose. The photograph shows a church, but for today it is a polling station.


For no particular reason I wondered why voting stations are called polling stations. Apparently it derives from Middle German or Dutch meaning "head". Its first recorded use as a collection of votes was in the 1620s. So literally the place to go for a head count.

I took a photograph of my polling station before I went in. The photograph is maybe over processed. There was a cloudless sky, so I added a few clouds for interest, then boosted the saturation, contrast and sharpening of the cobbles, roof tiles and stonework. Maybe I went a bit too far with the saturation!

The roof of the church tiles are patterned, but the colours have either faded or were quite subtle to begin with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.