Clouds

The sixth, and probably final day of the nor'wester. What a roller coaster day it has been, weatherwise. There has been sunshine and showers, blue sky and grey sky, high clouds, low clouds, dry clouds, wet clouds, and raindrops falling from a clear blue sky. The wind has swung from gentle to gale force, back and forth, roaring massively or almost silence. But the one thing that has been constant is the cold. I'm back to full winter gear. Until I moved to the mountain side of the Canterbury Plains after thirty-five years in Christchurch I had no idea that a nor'wester could be anything but warm.

Today I had to choose between a shot of Mount Torlesse with snow blowing off the mountain, or this cloud one. These clouds fascinated me. The high pale ones were streaming from the southwest at a high altitude, while small puffy ones were scudding across them, driven by the norwester. Unfortunately I could get less than half of the scene in the frame.

Snow, from the south, is predicted for tonight. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.