Leeds Liverpool Canal, near Plank Lane

Friday 5th May 2017 (1714)

Gosh I ached after yesterday! I think the physio's tactic was to mask the pain in my ankle by making everything else ache! 

I had plans for today but I slept in. I then decided the weather was too nice to waste so I ditched my plans and went out for a walk. I am hoping to manage the next walking group walk in a couple of weeks and I needed to firm up plans. I wanted to do part of the walk that I haven't done before. Good job I did as I was thwarted by a missing footpath! 

There was a missing footpath sign and I was looking at my map when a neighbour told me "It's ok, that is a public footpath, give it a try." I walked across two fields and in to some woods where I came across an old stile with the step missing. I managed it, just, but was conscious it would be harder for some of my group. There still wasn't a footpath sign. I continued along the edge of the next field but my exit point was completely blocked. I had to retrace my steps back to where I had first lost the sign.  

Back at the junction I walked along the road to pick up the footpath further down ... except it was blocked. In the end I retraced my steps to the car. One third of the walk will have to be omitted, good job I checked! I will have to go and check another part of the walk later, I had done enough today.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.