What did the Romans ever do for us?

It was a nice day. All the days had been nice. There had been rather more than seven of them so far, and rain hadn't been invented yet.

The water sanitisers arrive early and get to work. I see Angus off for his first higher - Maths - and head for the airport. I'm off to Spain to spend the weekend with Ken and Cristina. I haven't actually seen Ken face to face since sometime in the early 90s. It's going to be fun.

From Madrid airport I take the local train to Chamartin and then hop the high speed, north to Segovia. Ken arrives at the station looking remarkably like the Ken I remembered, and we head for their weekend house about 30km away. We take a detour to Segovia centre to see the impressive Roman aqueduct, surrounded by medieval buildings.

It was raining in Madrid, but here, north of the mountains it is dry, but a chill wind blows. Ken makes a proper Scottish yes - meatballs to his mother's recipe followed by rhubarb crumble. Apparently they don't grow rhubarb here, so he relies on imported, tins - if I'd known I could have brought a bundle in my bags.

Ken, Cristina and I stay up late listening to music and yattering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.