Macro Baby Blackbird

So pleased to have found and photographed my first damselflies of the season earlier this week and delighted today to spot a tiny cricket. It hopped away before I could capture it.

Jazzy and I were shooting macro, mainly micro moths, in the stitchwort by the bottom boiler house. I heard a soft cheeping and saw this baby blackbird sitting in the field maple hedge. It sat motionless as I approached with my macro lens. I got lots of shots. After a while I heard a loud chooking and Jazz suddenly launched. I thought at first that the adult blackbirds were alarm-calling about me shooting their baby. Not so - I caught a glimpse of Reynard, whose red coat showed up brightly against the green as he ducked under the hedge and out of Jazzy's sight.

Today's poem is From Joy's Loveliest Ocean by Rabindranath Tagore. http://friko-diamonddesigns.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/from-joys-loveliest-ocean.html

A song from an Indian philosopher which moved WB Yeats greatly. Tagore said his poems came to him like wild swans. A rush of sound and a flutter of wings. Woo woo woo woo .... His poems are popular at funerals. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.