Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Weeping

I didn't get a chance to see Weeping Window when it was installed at the Tower of London, and to be honest I didn't know it was in Hull until I stumbled on it while wandering around before the football today.  In the early afternoon it was very busy but I came back later and found it quiet enough for today's image.

Back in the autumn I'd set myself a speculative challenge of trying to get to a match at each level of the English football pyramid as far down as the local village team, Baildon Trinity Athletic, who are at Level 13. With some leagues having finished already I'm not going to make it, but a glaring omission in the 40 odd games I've been to was the top of the pyramid, a Premier League match. Which is what brought me to Hull City who were hoping to pick up a few points in their fight to avoid relegation. Today's opponents, Sunderland, are already relegated, which perhaps gave them the freedom to relax. Hull have a strong home record, and but for Sunderland goalie Jordan Pickford, who I'd seen a few times while on loan at Bradford a couple of seasons ago, may well have scored a few and won the match. They were undone by a couple of set pieces though, and Sunderland ran out 2-0 winners. In truth my sympathy would normally have been with Sunderland as one of my former adopted cities and given their squad is packed with former Everton players, but I was in the home end, so I roared, well mewed a little, for the Tigers.

In extras you'll find a picture of the stadium from the end of the match when I was able to get enough elevation to get the impressive roof in shot. Also, post box of the day: one of two "Anonymous" boxes that I found today (lacking the usual royal cipher, dating from 1879-1887) and a fine mural from the walk back into town after the match.

And for the record, I have managed matches in levels 1-7, 9-10 and 13 with not much prospect of filling the gaps this season, but there's always the next...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.