Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Yard

Catching up on further weekend adventures. On Sunday I crammed in: an early morning walk around Southend-on-Sea; a train back into London where I took in Brentford's lunchtime game against Hull City; a six mile walk up and down the Thames Path from Brentford to Richmond and back up to Kew Bridge before catching an evening train home to Yorkshire. A 270 images, memory card full sort of day.

I was out walking at 07:00 to make the most what little time I had in Southend. I snuck through the back streets to arrive at the sea front at Westcliff-on-Sea where I got my first glimpse of the cliff gardens which stretched a mile or so along to the pier. I zig-zagged up and down in the morning sunshine, enjoying both shoreline and cliff top views of the estuary and incidentally encountering my first Speckled Wood of the year. Other highlights included a motley collection of cliff railway, war memorial, post box, plaque and pier, with a fine street art mural as I headed back into town to catch the train to London. On reflection, given the lengths to get here it would have made more sense to have given myself at least the rest of the day in Southend although I probably wouldn't have enjoyed it so much once the bank holiday weekend crowds started stirring.

My journey back into London was much smoother than Saturday's trip out and there were some nice views of the Estuary and the Essex countryside. I had a while to wait for a connection at Waterloo, so I wandered across Waterloo Bridge and back enjoying the skyline and river views. Then it was back on the train to Brentford.

Brentford FC's Griffin Park is similarly situated to yesterday's Roots Hall at Southend; another traditional rectangular four stands crammed into an urban setting. Inside felt much more open though (extras for stadium panorama) which may have contributed to what was a much more enjoyable experience. As yesterday, the game was a dead rubber, Brentford falling just short of a play-off challenge and Hull City regrouping after last season's relegation from the Premier League. It was quite an open and entertaining game and a 1-1 draw meant both sets of fans could go home reasonably happy. Brentford had a good family feel to it, and I was glad I'd fitted in a visit to the ground before they move into a new stadium in 18 months time (even though, in terms of visiting the 92 league grounds that means that I will be needing to visit that new stadium at some point down the line.)

I'd usually accompany a visit of this nature with a few hours of aimless wandering and exploring, but the proximity of the Thames Path and a doable loop down to Richmond and back had seemed an attractive prospect when I was planning the day. Admittedly I hadn't known it was going to be so warm, but I stocked up on water and sun block and headed off. 

The upriver stretch through Brentford and around the River Brent and Grand Union Canal had a more urban feel but with plenty of interest, including London's largest boat yard (main image) hidden a short way up the River Brent.  In the canal basin a pair of Common terns were in situ (extra) and there were plenty of Mute Swans and Egyptian Geese. And a new Pocohantas plaque was a bonus (extra).  Once I'd got through to Syon Park the walk had more of a rural and parkland feel and the squawks of parakeets accompanied me most of the rest of the way. The final upriver stretch took me through Isleworth and then up the river proper to the pedestrian bridge over Richmond Lock (extra). The return walk on the south bank was a pleasant, shaded walk (extra) hugging the boundary of Kew Gardens. I eased the pace a little and allowed myself to be distracted by butterflies, including my first Brimstones and Green-veined White of the year. Kew Bridge (extra) was soon reached and I still had plenty of time to make it back to King's Cross for my train home.

Butterfly Journal 2018

7. 06/05/18: Speckled Wood, Cliff Gardens, Southend-on-Sea
8. 06/05/18: Green-veined White, Thames Path, Kew

9. 06/05/18: Brimstone, Thames Path, Kew

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.