Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Fox

On the grounds that I've never previously managed to get any sort of photograph of a fox, this has to be my blip for the day.

I was back on home ground for Bank Holiday Monday and wanted to get out onto the moor to check if the Green Hairstreaks were out. I found four on Moorside, alongside Large White, Small Tortoiseshell, and Peacock. Heading down to Spring Wood this fox appeared and then disappeared over the brow of the hill but by the time I could see over the hill it was still in sight, as pictured. A little bit further on I saw my first local patch Speckled Wood of the year too, and there were a good few Orange-tips down at Gill Beck.

In the afternoon I headed over to Silsden AFC to watch them clinch the North West Counties First Division, a 5-0 win over Barrow's Holker Old Boys being enough to keep them in first place. The trophy was presented (extra) and celebrations ensured.

Butterfly Journal 2018

10. 07/05/18: Large White, Moorside, Baildon.
11. 07/05/18: Green Hairstreak, Moorside, Baildon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.