Fox

I had just finished putting our lunch on the plates, I looked up into the garden and saw today’s picture of a Fox; this is the middle sized one of the three that visit. In the main picture it is sniffing the vegetable peelings, which I put out everyday for the rabbits and deer. The extra picture shows her (I think it is a her) as she approached the kitchen window from the far side of the orchard.
 
After lunch I went outside to fill the bird and squirrel feeders so that my husband, who is not very mobile, could get a picture of a bird or something through the window. I heard some Honey Bees; they can be quite noisy and realised that a swarm was forming in one of our Cherry trees. It is quite a large swarm and I suspect that the bees in our one hive have grown too big for the space; hopefully they will decide to take up residence in one of our three empty hives. I had thought it would rain this afternoon, but the bees are unlikely to have swarmed if it was going to rain. However, if it does rain, before the 'Scout' bees have found a new home, they will just go back to their former home, the Queen will kill off the new Queen cells that she made before leaving and they will leave on another occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.