A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

A50 Groby Bypass Bridge

Clearly i’m a big fan of redundant bridges and this one, although it doesn’t look all that much, is a rather lovely example. In an echo of my beloved little bridge in Stoney Stanton , this wide underbridge on the 1960's A50 Groby Bypass once accommodated a tramway which connected a major quarry to the wider railway network. South of here the line takes a curious route passing two of my old schools, and running along an alignment I once walked home on towards the village I was brought up in. The site of its old terminus viewable from my bedroom window growing up, and somewhere Ive walked through countless times, is now a maze of bridges, brooks and Leicester's A46 Western Bypass marking the periphery of the city. The terminus on the old Leicester and Swannington Railway Line is a route which connects many places that have been important in my life and this Groby link is a very appropriate spur.  Amazing when the history of your local area, and your own personal history (quite literally) align. Wonderful. 

I also revisited our little den.. See extra photo! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.