The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Austin Ten at Wheel Nuts car show

I didn't get out of my stall marquee much, but the sun shone on my school's car show, now in its 13th year, and the air was buzzing

My sales were ok, and Steve and his sister attended, and brought a picnic featuring eight types of cheese! No strawberries or prosecco: just cheese and hummus!

In the evening I celebrated by putting on my shorts and lying in the hammock getting my face sunburned. I know that one swallow doesn't make a summer, but those forty minutes were blissful. Afterwards, I lay in the bath filled with Dead Sea salts, trying to get rid of the ache caused by two days of standing up behind stalls.

Then we had another picnic in front of the TV, with added extras of smoked salmon and Indian veggie snacks. Somewhere along the way I also acquired a gluten free cake. What's not to like?

The car is an Austen ten I snapped on one of my rare journeys outside the marquee. My great aunt was a racing driver at Brooklands, and drove Austen sevens. Her name was Kay Petre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.