Journey 2 Ithaki

By spartan

Gordian knots and...

...running with the spirits of the gods.

My write up will be Spartan...meaning very short but hopefully powerful and mind stimulating.

When I saw this tree I thought of two things, the Gordian knot and earthdreamer. Running with the spirits of the gods and my ancient ancestors through these magical mountain ranges must have triggered my love for ancient history and mythology and the first thing that I saw in front of me was those knotted and twisted tree trunks as a Gordian knot... for those of you that haven't heard of it

the Gordian Knot is a legend of Phrygian Gordium associated with Alexander the Great. It is often used as a metaphor for an intractable problem solved easily by "thinking outside the box". ("cutting the Gordian knot"):

"Turn him to any cause of policy,
The Gordian Knot of it he will unloose,
Familiar as his garter" (Shakespeare, Henry V, Act 1 Scene 1. 45-47)

.....and earthdreamer because he is a magical entity, a man that is in love like myself with Gaia, the trees, mother nature and that s why all his tree photos and not only are blessed and full of magic. And he is not the only one I know back at my Yorkshire home that mother nature allows him to capture magic..... you know who you all are.

...this mountain super ultra I will never forget, running with wonderful Panos through this magical scenery. 139 magical Kms, running strong and super well. I have not felt tired at all, i felt full with magic and energy...i wanted to keep going, i didnt wanted it to end. I have tears in my eyes writing this blip...i feel so blessed. Soon I want to race, perhaps now, need some target races and time to be able to do them...and they ll all be mountain/fell and trail (no roads this year). I want them to be long, full of adventures and explorations.

How am I going to leave this magic behind me is another story........

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.