From Parnell

Fascinating variation in tasks at work today. The morning I spent mostly in rewriting (essentially) a report which had been drafted by a non clinician about an "adverse event". Over my many years in this field, I have learned a way of presenting information accurately, succinctly and (most importantly) non-ambiguously. Apart from our leadership team meeting with which we start the week, that was my morning. 

The afternoon was my first clinical work since starting this job. Initially, my preference was to work with treatment resistant mood disorders. There is a wish for that from clinicians. However, there is a sudden and serious shortage in the liaison psychiatry service, particularly the psychiatric input to the Huntington's Disease service. So for some months that will be what I'm doing. 

This was an interest of mine many years ago, and doing this short term seems important as they are a group of persons with very high needs. This afternoon I saw three people at different stages of the illness, and with markedly different illness trajectories (I can use jargon with the best of them!). Some of the issues for the first two were challengingly new to me, and the third person was someone whose current needs are my bread and butter; chronic depression with partial response to treatment. 

I left after completing the work, including notes and letters, to ride through the Domain to Parnell to collect our itineraries for the trip we leave for on Friday. I didn't pay quite enough attention to what the travel agent said to me, and I just assumed that when she said here are your tickets I would have tickets. What we have doesn't look anything like what I understand tickets to look like. Poor S will have to talk to them tomorrow and have it explained/dealt with.

After collecting the "tickets" (itinerary) I went out of their office in Parnell (in Birdwood Crescent! Daughter C is in Birdwood Road in Swanson). Sw this. Got out the camera. Straightened a tad, otherwise straight from the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.