A little jewel

Out walking in local woodland i noticed a pair of these weevils out of the corner of my eye shimmering in the weak sunshine.  
Of course I just had to investigate, and I was rewarded by finding a pair of these beauties Byctiscus betulae, a Hazel leaf-rolling weevil. 
Like the other red and black Hazel leaf- rolling weevil Apoderus coryli , The female bites through the leaves and then rolls them into a cigar shape to protect her eggs. The rolled leaves dry out and die, and fall from the tree to the ground where the larvae continue to develop - all very clever! 
This little weevil is notable and a very nice find.
I have added a photo of the deep blue male in my extras, I found them both really difficult to capture as a photo due to their metallic shine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.