Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The Right Stuff

So I had six of these beer glasses delivered today. Inexpensive but very deliberately chosen as they hold 400ml. Now my alcohol free beers nearly all come in 330ml bottles, so what I do is top up the odd 70ml with alcoholic beer. That way I can drink four or five beers but only have the same amount of alcohol as if I had had one. The normal beer adds a bit of body and bite too. 

I also had a call from Barbara in Bolton, Lancashire today. She left me a voicemail. I was a bit worried as she had a very cracked elderly voice, sounded like some sort of chronic respiratory condition. So i called her back and she told me she wanted me to come round and do her feet for her. I said nothing would give me greater pleasure but alas I was 200 miles away in Surrey and was not a registered chiropodist. Or even very good with nail scissors. In fact I usually stab myself. We laughed about it. Who said northerners were dour and humourless?

I had some willow screening delivered as well, a big chunky roll of it. I used it to cover up the ugly widows on the garage. Definitely the right stuff for the job. It now looks natural and pleasing. 

Then there was the small matter of making the bed in The Dizzle’s bedroom. TSM’s sister had been sleeping in there on her recent visit from Australia. I must confess that we only got around to stripping the bed tonight, two  and a  half weeks later. When we did we found a rather lovely card full of rather lovely words. 

Lastly we had a FaceTime from the girl racer who showed us around her nice new flat. She is loving having a place of her own.


So not a bad day. Despite a lot of irritations at work, there was enough of the right stuff to keep me happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.