Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Tattoo

Apparently we walked 25,420 steps today before sitting down at the airport to charge our devices and prepare ourselves to fly off in opposite directions. It was a long day (in a very good way) in that we packed a lot in to the hours we had left. I got up deliberately early at 5.30am to try and maximise the chance of sleeping on my overnight flight back to London. The Girl Racer was lazy and didn’t emerge until after eight but that did at least give me time to pack my new MEC bag with all the stuff I had been buying since landing in Toronto.

Having said that, I did add to the load after we had visited St Lawrences Market not far from our airbnb. This is a mostly food and household goods, old style covered market but it did have one of those “Aladdin’s Cave” kitchen shops where I bought a few bits and pieces.

We then had a smoothie to prepare me for my first ever tattoo. Betting at home was that I wouldn’t go through with it, but having drunk a 20 oz kale, pineapple and banana load of sugar I was fired up and ready for anything. The guy in the tattoo parlour thought I was giving moral support to The GIrl Racer and raised his eyebrows when we said it was for me.

Forty five minutes later I was the proud possessor of The Eye of Horus permanently inked into my left forearm.

TSM admitted she didn’t think I would go through with it. But having seen the video and the photographs posted by The Girl Racer she couldn’t accuse me of faking it with a henna job or something. Actually it wasn’t too painful. But I won’t be repeating the experience because I am a minimalist in these matters. One bracelet, one ring (not counting my wedding ring) and one tattoo.

The Eye of Horus is supposed to bring health, wealth and wellbeing. I’m hoping it might bring me supernatural powers as well but I’m not counting on it.

After that I needed a coffee and some sourdough which we had in a fab little place with a courtyard a few doors away.

And after that we had a beer in The Steam WhistleBrewery. I asked The Girl Racer twenty questions about a topic of my choosing which I think she found entertaining. I certainly found it revealing.

After that we went up the CN tower which was once the tallest building in the world.

After that we had some amazing vegan food at The Copper Branch. Quite amazing. May be the best vegan take away I have ever had.

After that we had more coffee and I said goodnight to TSM. “Have you guys done anything but eat?” she asked to which The Girl Racer replied “We also drank beer and coffee “. True.

After that we tried to do some more shopping, although were unsuccessful.

Then we went to the airport which is where we are now.

Fab day. Amazing few days. I love my daughter. She’s cool. Mind you so am I.

I’ve got a tattoo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.