SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

So busted!

Thought I'd give the ole 'street photography' another go today, but hit the supermarket instead.  Didn't dare drag my big baby in with me this time but thought I'd try stalking with my iPhone instead.  As I wandered up to this gentleman manning the cell phone kiosk, I pretended to be looking at something on my phone.  Just as I was snapping the photo he intuitively glanced up at me as I then very quickly looked off into the distance as if seeing some thing.  Oh man.  Seriously busted.  I thought for sure he'd say something to me, but thankfully didn't as I walked on by.  

I've realized a couple of things recently and again today in taking peoples' photos without their permission.  

1) It is not for the faint of heart and I think one has to be prepared to be told off OR if asked to see the photo be willing to show it and willing to send to the person if asked. 

2) Some of the very interesting faces I've recently wanted to photograph have been so sad.  I know I'm highly sensitive and often pick up on what others are feeling and so for me to ask someone to take their photo, feels like an invasion of their privacy, their grief, their struggle, their pain.  I may be reading into this more than necessary, but hey, it's where I live.  In the deep layers. 
 
All that to say, I will keep exploring this area of street/people photography as I always think it's good to challenge myself, but I just may have to figure out how I'm comfortable doing it.

Baby steps. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.