LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Sea legs...

I have them! EDIT: Or so I thought!!

We had a lovely morning, no long lie cause it seems I can't sleep in any more nothing to do with Chris snoring but we had breakfast cooked by Alex and Rachel, including Staffordshire Oatcakes - which look nothing like an oatcake as I know them - then pootled on down to the harbour at lunchtime. Layers and waterproofs were the order of the day for me and glad of them I was too.

The sea was lovely and calm and the sun was out, as were the seals, lots of them. The gang got kitted up and jumped in to swim with the seals on the first dive. There's a whole lot of kit involved and a whole lot of wet gear to deal with afterwards. I'm not sure I'm the diving kind although I've tried it once before at the club in the pool. That was cool cause there's nothing living in there and I can see the bottom!! I might be tempted by a bit of snorkelling but I'm not entirely sure I want to squeeze into a wetsuit anytime soon!! I was given the dive marshall job which involved checking air in and out and times in and out as well as the depth of the dives. I think the deepest was about 28 metres. Scary! The second dive was a wreck called The Somali. I just pottered around on the boat taking photos of all sorts of everything.

We got back to the bunkhouse in time to have a couple of beers before dinner, again cooked by our top chefs followed by more beers and some sparkler nonsense as I'd saved the sparklers left over from Chris and Nicki's wedding. Kyle helped me take some star shots, the sky was amazing as the light pollution down there isn't as bad as it is in the city. I've never really managed to take any decent star shots as I'm a bit rubbish at the night stuff but we geeked around with the settings and the tripod he explained things with big words I'd never heard and then translated into idiot speak for me and we had some results! The moon was amazing too... properly red as it came up, I've never seen that before.

Then Steve taught me some tactical moves and proceeded to whip me at chess. I think I managed to retain some of that information so hopefully I'll get better at beating Ary!!

I couldn't quite choose what photo to blip, usually I can rake through my photos and pick a blip no problem but today there were so many amazing shots and I had such a lot of laughs that it was hard to choose. I sat with Jules and picked some to put in a collage so that I could blip more than one. Such a great day. I put the sea photo in my blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.