Pearl-Bordered Fritillaries

As it was a sunny morning I went up Llanymynech Rocks to photograph butterflies.It's limestone it's a good habitat for a range of butterflies and plants.

My blip is of a pair of pearl-bordered fritillaries (named after the pearl shapes on the under wing). The male is the main one in the picture and the female under the bracken. I was photographing him flying around her and mating when another male flew in and they were fighting over the lady. 

There were other types on the wing too - common blue and grizzled skipper (extras) and green hairstreak, small copper, dingy skipper and  a new one to me - a mint moth.

There were a few people about including three men that I got talking to - they were walking all round Wales taking in all the places that did kidney dialysis. They were raising money for research into kidney disease.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.