X rated spiders!

Busy at work today watering our plants in the greenhouse I noticed this crab spider Misumena vatia, lying in wait on the blue Ceanothus. Needless to say I rushed off to get my camera, and when I got back and took a few shots I realized she was actually not alone, but had a tiny male with her! He was very busy, roaming very carefully all over her huge body obviously doing his best to woo her, while she continued to sit there no doubt thinking of her lunch!
So today's blip is exactly that scenario, him wooing her, I left to do some other things, and when I returned later she had caught a small bee for her lunch, he was still sitting on her back no doubt relieved her lunch didn't turn out to be him!!
Big 60 tomorrow! wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.