Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Another greenhouse spider

After the amazing wood wasp experience that we had yesterday, I was back home in Stirling today on a damp, cool, dreich day that was good for neither finding wee beasties to photograph, nor for photographing in general. Having blipped last week about a huge spider living on the outside of my greenhouse, today's rain drove me into the greenhouse where I spotted this lovely big spider above the sliding door. The four black spots in a square formation on its abdomen makes me reasonably sure that this is a female four-spot orb-weaver spider (scientific name: Araneus quadratus), a common and widespread spider in Britain. This spider species is normally found among tall vegetation, and I wonder if that includes the tall tomato plants in my greenhouse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.