Abstract Thursday : : Rocks, Grass, Water

A walk around Spring Lake with my 'new' camera netted me a few interesting pictures I was taking them with an eye to abstract images taken directly from nature without any post production changes. Usually water is a great source, but today Spring Lake was as calm as a millpond with nary a  ripple, so this is the best of the lot.

While I was trying to create a fabulous image, Ozzie rolled in something nasty within spitting distance of the car. I used four wet wipes trying to clean off the worst of it and finally gave up and took him home for a bath. That made me late for a haircut but fortunately my stylist has a little salon in her house and is usually flexible. We had a rousing conversation about how victimized by technology.we both feel. 

I have a new, paranoid theory about Apple's constant updating of operating systems, which is that each time you update, they take something away from you that you really like, and the only way to get it back is to pay for it somehow. I have put my photos on the cloud which saved me from getting notices on my computer that I am running out of space, but doubled the number of notices on my phone since all all the photos seemed to be on my phone. Why aren't they on the cloud too? They're the same photos....oh well....I think I have ranted about this before.

After writing about Chris yesterday, and reading about unhoused people on several other journals, I was gratified to learn in the newspaper today that Santa Rosa has halved the number of people living on the streets. The major accomplishments include buying a failing motel and turning it into permanent housing, for veterans, and converting part of an unused hospital into housing and a community center for young people who have 'aged out' of the foster care system and need a place to live. I think the city is trying hard to find solutions.

It's a start....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.