Flower Friday : : Streletzia

I’m sure I have taken at least one picture of these 'birds' every year, but there are lots of them growing around our house and they always strike me as both funny and dramatic, so this is my Bird of Paradise entry for Flower Friday this year.

I was on the way to the post office to mail a package this morning when I stopped by the nail spa to see if I could get a pedicure. For the first time ever, they were able to take me right away, so I trooped in in my tennis shoes and Pilates tights toting my package, and stumped out in the disposable flip flops they give you when you are unprepared. I had no choice but to trek to the post office and then back to my car walking like a duck and carrying my shoes. 

The weather has turned hot and windy. I was out getting some roses when a big gust of wind came up  and blew over a big pot with a Lady Banks climbing rose in it. It ripped through the cord tying it to the post of the arbor and broke the pot. OilMan and I managed to right it again, and he tied it back to the arbor, but the combination of hot weather and windy conditions is no longer a situation I accept with equanimity....

The town is being taken over tomorrow by the Ironman. We are already seeing cyclists in Lycra and runners in shorts all over town, not to mention numerous notices for road closures and detours while they swim, bike and run their way around the county. We may have a change of plans and stay home....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.