Refurbished Wishing Fish Clock

I had a need to whip up to Cheltenham Triumph for some parts this morning, and in the knowledge that the Wishing Fish Clock was due to be reopened at noon in the Regent's Arcade I thought I'd zip along there too. 

Unfortunately I got there at five past, and I wasn't about to wait another 55 minutes, so you don't get the bubbles and the animatronics. You also get the perspective corrected iPhone version, because although i went with the Canon and a long lens, the Regent Arcade saw fit to put low hanging lights in the way of any decent sightline.

I first came across Kit Williams back in 1979, when he released his artistic prize finding puzzle book, "Masquerade". I still have it here somewhere, although I never got anywhere near solving any of the clues. I was delighted to find the clock some thirty years ago, and recently saw in the local news that it was being refurbished.

Sad to miss the opening event, but at least the numberplate recognition cameras on the Regent Arcade's multi-storey car park are front facing only... (no front numberplate on a motorbike!) ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.