Buzzzzzzing!

I have become much more proactive in the last few years and this is partly due to my ever growing passion for photography. Today I did something that I made happen. It started a week ago when I went for lunch on my own....something I've only just felt totally comfortable with....and I chatted with the waitress. She knew someone, Tony, who did something with someone else that I wanted the chance to see . I asked if she would arrange for me to meet up with Tony and yesterday I received a text to say it could go ahead.

Well, you know what I'm talking about by the photo...bees!!! There are bee hives on top of The Printworks, Manchester Art Gallery and Manchester Cathedral and it was the Cathedral that I had set my sights on. I went to the teashop, they directed me to the Cathedral, they directed me to the Cathedral offices, they directed me to offices above the teashop....I walked in on a meeting....oops! The man in charge phoned Tony...who didn't reply...I said I would grab a drink in the teashop and wait there. And...that is where Tony found me. 

Tony took me over to the Cathedral where we climbed up a tiny spiral stone staircase to meet Adrian. Adrian is a Chaplain and in charge of the bees. I was given a suit and gloves and then Tony, Adrian and two other bee fanatics, Karen and Margaret and I went up onto the roof. 

I had wondered if I would panic when bees flew all around me, but I was calm and it was a phenomenal experience. Adrian had brought bees from home to put into a hive and then they inspected all the other hives. There were about forty thousand bees in each hive. Adrian told me so many facts and answered all my questions. I was up there for about an hour and a half and I loved it all.

Bees landed on me, they flew all around me and I wasn't bothered at all. They were beautiful, they sounded beautiful and it was amazing to be there on such a beautiful building and be amongst them. What an experience. It was difficult taking photos through a mask and with thick gloves on, the settings probably could have been better, but I am pleased with what I got...even in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.