Yesterday...

...chrisphoto
https://www.blipfoto.com/chrisphoto
suggested I do some drawing/painting on the new sounds I was experiencing.

So I thought why not. I already saw it in pictures and colour. But for these studies I kept it in black&white.

I did too much yesterday with reading the words along with the audiobook (I needed to do this to follow/realise what the words were). But it meant a sleepless night as my eyes were too sore (they are dry with Sjogren's Syndrome). I am having to use sticky gloopy gel eye stuff today.

So today I tried some old children's fairy tales I had downloaded yesterday. With my logic being my brain might recognise some words since reading along with words was not an option today. Yes my brain happily recognised the words 'The Little Matchgirl', but little else. Same with 'Red Riding Hood', except it my brain did pick up 'little pot of butter'! When did Little Red Riding Hood carry butter to Grandma?

Sadly to say I fell asleep in each story even though they were only minutes long.

So one was told by a man, the other by a woman. I already had the beginnings of a visual picture of a man's voice from yesterday's listenings. And the same for a woman. Both pictures were reinforced by today's recordings. And I played each again a few times as I drew their respective pictures.

I think I will enter this for admirer's Silly Saturday challenge...since one is a drawing of my perception of a man's voice, and the other is my perception of a woman's voice.

And thanks very much to chrisphoto for this idea.

So this is my picture today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

By the way, in case you were wondering, these were very easy to draw in that they were no strain on my eyes. It is straining me writing these words even though I am using speech to text facility. I am having to proof read. Each pic was two and a half inches square, and done in various grades of pencil from HB to 8B.

[This is my artist's perception of sounds as they are now after being drastically changed after the remapping of my cochlear processor. I am readjusting to the different sounds, which are actually vastly different, as it is now suggested I was never mapped properly in the first place which is why I have struggled the last few years.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.