The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Morning light over the Heavens

I think an angel has just passed over! Got up late, after being woken by Bomble at 3.30. He then got shut out, and I slept till eight, when I saw this amazing light. Luckily I had had the foresight to leave my camera on the table downstairs, as I figure that is where I most frequently need it for blipping birds or wildlife.

The valley behind our house is called The Heavens, and is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) which means it can't be developed. The slopes are steep, so are used for grazing by a tenant farmer, and by picknickers and dog walkers. The landowner is Moreton Cullimore, a haulage and quarrying company. (Lately, while walking around Stroud Cemetery, I found the gravestone of Moreton Cullimore himself, so he was a person of that actual name!) I haven't seen many cows this year. But I could hear the dog walkers and their children on the other side of my neighbour's fence, where the path leads into the woods, down to the stream.
The slopes of the hill opposite belong to the hamlet of Butterow, so named because of the wood grown there for archery butts. This is an extension of the parish of Rodborough.

This is my first attempt at blipping before work, so this is all I will write. What a relief!

I have posted another backdated blip here, if you have the inclination...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.