Gardentime

Something somehow tells me
someone's locked inside the shed.
I haven't heard a cry for help;
I haven't seen a head.

The door is closed up tightly
and the latch is firmly shut;
not a sound am I aware of,
just this feeling in my gut.

No, I've not heard any rumours,
no-one's missing, no-one's dead,
and yet something somehow tells me
someone's locked inside the shed ...

 
© Celia Warren 2017

This evening it's raining again - which is good for the pond and the garden, and at least we did enjoy some almost-warm, windy sunshine today. Found an inch of rainwater in a garden tub and poured it into the birdbath, when I noticed a newt and a snail left behind in the tub. I put them on the rocks by the pond so that they could choose wet or dry and a moment later, when I returned they were nowhere to be seen. I think it's a smooth newt (see Extra), but am open to suggestion if any amphibian experts can advise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.