Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oregon Junco

After a very rainy start to the day, the sun broke out around 2 and we made a mad dash to Tualatin Nat'l. Wildlife Refuge. We managed to get about 2 miles before the skies got dark. The rest of the hike was completed very quickly with rain and hail to motivate us. To tell the truth, we felt pretty virtuous having gotten out in spite of the weather. And did I mention that it's rather chilly?

Mom helped me pick today's blip - we both liked this dark-eyed Junco with his dirty beak. He'd been foraging at the edge of a mud puddle. This species, Junco hyemalis, has four very different and distinct color variations. The Oregon Junco color variant is, in my opinion, the most striking of the four, so I was pleased to get this shot.

And for the first time in my 61 years, I had canned wine tonight. Yes, you read that right...canned wine. The can is the size of a beer can. Surprisingly, the Oregon Pinot noir that came out of the can was very good. No one more shocked than me by that!

Weather forecast for tomorrow is not promising, but we're just going to see what evolves and be prepared to dash at a moment's notice.

Thanks for stopping by.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.