Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stronger knees?

I had a very good go at the gym today - 10 minutes on the crosstrainer and 20 minutes on the bike. At Level 15! Phew! It really helped to be watching the Sunday Politics, and wanting to hear what rubbish was spouted next.

I think my knees feel a wee bit stronger. They need to be ready for those winery tours in a couple of weeks! Though I've sent for a tricky wee portable seat thingie which will be of great assistance when I need to sit down and there isn't a convenient wall/chair/wine barrel.

Becky came to take Archie out for the afternoon, and we sat out the back with the neighbours. At one point there were quite a few kids, so it was better that Archie wasn't there.

We got the comfy deck chairs out, and spent quite a while listening to our respective audio books. But the wee neighbour, who is four, kept gabbling on, asking questions every fiddle faddle. She was in her paddling pool and kept asking where Archie was and why he was out for a walk and how did we know her daddy's name and where was Archie?

I got her to promise not to squeal and run away when Archie came out, to just stand still, but by the time he came back the paddling pool had been packed away and the place was deserted. So Archie had a play with his football.

I kept falling asleep while listening to my book, but I solved that for a chapter or two by eating an Almond Magnum at the same time, which worked really well. Only 26 more chapters to go. That's quite a lot of Magnums...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.