By Himself

By Himself

Coming down to Skinningrove

Today I walked in bright sunshine with soaring clouds in a blue sky from Saltburn to Staithes along the top of some of highest cliffs in England at over 600 meters. The Cleveland Way path was especially easy to follow since a left turn was highly inadvisable and fields of young barley flanked my right hand for most of the way. As time was not an issue on today's relatively short walk, I was able go make two quick sketches en-route.
Descending into the old mining town of Skinningrove brought me to a welcome Magnum and I also stocked up on a local meat pie for lunch later.
Staithes is a picture postcard fishing harbour with its old houses perched higgledy-piggledy up a ravine in the steep cliffs. I am billeted here for four nights in a very comfortably converted WW1 army camp. Arranging access was a little frustrating because there is no mobile signal here and I was eventually saved by a waitress in a nearby café who lent me her phone on a different network.
I passed 100 miles on my hike around the North Yorkshire moors today so a little rest is deserved don't you think?  I may complete further sections, returning here by bus but may just spend some time sketching.
WiFi is only available in the Cod and Lobster pub so I will make my evening meals last longer to stay online!

Extra is a sketch of Guibal Fanhouse, a now derelict remainder of iron smelting. The two gables housed a huge paddle-shaped fan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.