By Himself

By Himself

Cod & Lobster, Staiths

The iconic harbour side inn which looks like being my evening venue for the next few days because firstly they do good food and secondly they have good WiFi which is completely absent in my little apartment up the hill. My journal is a bit out of sync so this was drawn yesterday and completed very early this morning. I have slipped into a routine of bed at dusk, exhausted, and rise with the larks refreshed.
Well rest I didn't! (See yesterday's blip). Today I walked the 11 or so miles along the clifftops through Port Mulgrave, Runswick Bay and Sandsend to Whitby. Overcast with some light rain blown in by a very strong wind, I passed above old moon cratered allum mines, steep slopes of yellow gorse and fields of young barley on the landward side. Erosion has caused the path to be moved away from the edge in several places and there were some vertiginous drops. At Runswick the path goes across the beach and then snakes steeply up a gully with water tumbling down it. Wading and avoiding high tide are necessary. I sat outside the tea room and sketched the little houses tumbling down the steep hill.
The cinder track-bed of a disused railway leads past Sandsend and the approach to the grand hotels standing on Whitby's West Cliff.
A brief bus ride took me back to Staithes and the Cod & Lobster's best steak pie.
Tomorrow, Whitby to Robin Hood's Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.